top of page
  • 작성자 사진하은 배

[Week 6]


There is a sound that began to irritate my ears. I didn't care about the sound during the vacation but as the semester begun it became noise. The sound of a cat's water purifier that I leave on when I can't care about the cat starts in the kitchen and resonates throughout the house. The sound of the dripping water from the cat's water purifier was like music when I was free and helped me relax. But as the lecture began, the sound of water falling turned into noise. When I had to concentrate, the sound of water in the whole house became a distraction. When I'm too busy to care about my surroundings, it feels like it's not making any noise. It reminds me of the saying that everything was up to one's mind.


While recording sounds on the iPhone and listening to the sound of water dripping throughout the editing using the program, I recalled the media art I had seen at a museum. Media art, which was seen at the Seosomun Shrine History Museum, contains the sound of water flowing. If the sound I heard in the media art flows all over the house, would I think it was noise, too?



Sometimes the sound of water flowing brings me memories. The water flowing from the cat water purifier sometimes reminds me of the stream I played in my childhood. But when I have a lot of work to do, I don't even have time to dwell on my memories, so I often dismiss them as useless. Wouldn't the sound of water dripping have the same context? There's so much work to do that I think is more important to me that I'm treating the sound of bringing back memories as noise.


To define this sound in three keywords, it would be noise, memories, and thoughts. Because this sound can be both a noise and a memory depending on what I think.



조회수 3회

최근 게시물

전체 보기

[Week 14]

[Week 13]

[Week 12]

bottom of page